Piranha (1978)

Ostensibly a semi-serious satire of 1975’s “Jaws,” Joe Dante’s “Piranha” is a movie that I want to enjoy more than I actually do. I love its infamous artwork and its disreputable cinema vibe, but the actual movie is, well, rather boring. There’s some entertaining banter between leads Bradford Dillman and Heather Menzies, and a nifty little score to accompany the attack scenes, but the movie really drags along the way. The climax is fun and overall it’s worth watching for horror fans thanks to its reputation and its pedigree (it’s littered with genre favorites both onscreen and behind the camera), but it’s best enjoyed with the company of smart-mouth friends and beverages than a solo viewing.

Rating: ★★★ (out of 5)

You can watch the trailer here:

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Karandi says:

    I love movies like this one. While objectively they aren’t that good, they are always fun for a group watch and a laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I miss my teen years of watching them with my friends in my parents’ basement whenever I watch one haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

