The Mummy (1932)

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit disappointed by Universal’s first Mummy movie. Granted my exposure to the Mummy movies has been extremely limited thus far (as in, this is the first one I’ve seen), but I found this one rather dull. After having loved “Frankenstein,” “The Invisible Man” and “The Wolf Man,” I was rather expecting something similar, but instead was a bit thrown off that Boris Karloff barely ever appears as an actual mummy, not to mention that the movie moves at snail’s pace and feels about twice as long as its 73 minute running time. In addition, Karloff’s makeup seems heavy and constricting, which seems to limit his ability to move his face or enunciate his words, which means the central villainous performance is rather stiff. That being said, Universal monster movies always have visually pleasing aspects and this is true of “The Mummy,” from its memorable score to its majestic sets and operatic costume design, but ultimately this one left me feeling a little sleepy.

Rating: β˜…β˜…β˜… (out of 5)

You can watch the trailer here:

Leave a Reply

