Frank Ocean – Channel Orange (2012)

A masterstroke of ambient rock and slow-groove R&B, Frank Ocean’s full-length debut LP is a delight from beginning to end. Ocean’s casually sleek vocals are complimented extraordinarily well by revealing and occasionally heartbroken lyrics, while the music treads patiently and carefully from one track to another, creating a unified, entirely satisfying experience.

Rating: ★★★★★ (out of 5)

Watch the video for “Pyramids” here:

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Luke Atkins says:

    Love it! Also, I embedded the full song in my blog post from a couple hours ago off Youtube so I figured I’d mention that (cause that live version only covers four minutes). Anyway, totally agree on your review! Well well said! Personally, I like Blonde even more but you can’t EVER go wrong with Pyramids (which I like even more than Blonde’s Nights), Pink Matter, Thinking Bout You, Super Rich Kids, Forrest Gump, Bad Religion, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Luke Atkins says:

    One last thing: Watch this video for one of the greatest experiences possible. Chills. Anyway, peace!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow that was actually terrific, thanks for sharing. I have to admit I wasn’t big on Blonde myself, I found it difficult and self-indulgent, but this made me really listen to “Nights,” I think I missed it among the other songs on Blonde. This video felt like a lethargic, lo-fi version of “Koyaanisqatsi” and I mean that in the best possible way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

